Motorcycle Handbook 2024

Driver's Manual

To make studying easier, the handbook is available in multiple languages and comes with an audio version. Get interactive support with our AI assistant to clarify any complex terms.

We are preparing the PDF
We are preparing the PDF. Large files like this one can take some time to download, but rest assured that it is worth the wait. Thank you for your patience.

Tennessee Motorcycle Manual Online 2024

Tennessee prides itself on having some of the safest highways in the nation.

For this reason, anyone hoping to obtain their motorcycle license will need to meet some high requirements. In addition to the Tennessee Driver Handbook and the Tennessee Driver Study Guide, the state Department of Safety distributes the Tennessee Motorcycle Operator Manual (available below), which aims to assist learners become better motorcycle riders.

Licensing Procedure

In order to get a motorcycle license (Class M), you’ll need to take a knowledge test. This test is based on the information contained in the TN Motorcycle Operator Manual. Applicants who do not possess a valid Tennessee driver license will also need to take a knowledge test based on the Driver Study Guide, to ensure that they are familiar with Tennessee’s traffic laws and regulations. After the knowledge and vision tests are completed, applicants are required to take the on-cycle skills test.

However, the state Department of Safety waives the motorcycle knowledge and on-cycle skills test to individuals who have successfully completed an approved Motorcycle Rider Education Program, offered at any state-certified motorcycle training center.

Driving Under the Influence

Driving under the influence (DUI) of drugs or alcohol is a serious offence under Tennessee driving laws. According to state law, a BAC (blood alcohol content) of 0.08% is the maximum level of intoxication. The consequences of DUI are as follows:

  • First conviction: 48 hours minimum jail time; $350 minimum fine/one year
  • Second conviction: 45 days minimum jail time; $600 minimum fine/ two years; vehicle subject to seizure and forfeiture if the second offense occurs within five years of the first
  • Third conviction: 120 days minimum jail time; $1100 minimum fine/three to ten years
  • Subsequent convictions: Class E felony; 150 days minimum jail time; $3000 minimum fine/five years; vehicle is subject to seizure and forfeiture

Safety Equipment

The Tennessee Department of Safety recommends that anyone riding a motorcycle wear a helmet that meets federal safety standards. Anyone under the age of 21 is required to wear a Department of Transportation (DOT)-approved helmet. Anyone age 18 or older is exempt from wearing a helmet while riding a motorcycle, if it is being ridden in a parade at a speed not exceeding thirty (30) miles per hour.

Any motorcycle must also be equipped with a DOT-approved windshield. If it is not, then the operator and passengers are required to wear safety goggles/glasses that have impact resistant lenses, or a helmet that has a face shield.